So, 2017 is all over bar the shouting. That went fast!  The next gardening year has already begun for many of us, with hours spent poring over seed catalogs, plans being made, perhaps even some early seeds already sown.  Anyhow, time for Six on Saturday!  Six things, in your garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything; a tool, a job to do, a plan, a flower, a success, anything at all!  Join in, all the best people do.

Here are my Six for this week.

1- Pansies, to be planted.  I bought these (cheap, obviously) weeks and weeks ago and have neglected them ever since.  I’ve been meaning to plant them out, honest.  This weekend, definitely maybe.


2 – Clean pots.  Over the holidays I have brought a stack of pots in each day, to be cleaned up. I don’t go crazy sterilizing them, I just rinse out and swish around in soapy water.  I still have lots to do.

20171229_095726776314752.jpg

3 – Emerging bulbs. A couple of months back I put quite a lot of bulbs in the front garden.  They are beginning to make their presence felt, mostly daffodils, I think. There are some that look different, not sure what they are. Bluebells, possibly, or hyacinths. We’ll find out soon enough…

20171229_0945571348999471.jpg

4 – Magnolia buds. I have a dwarf magnolia in the front garden which normally flowers profusely in February or so, maybe March. That’s a fair way off yet, but the tree is getting prepared for the show.

20171229_0945431317742853.jpg

5 – The cold frame. I don’t think I’ve featured this before, but am beginning to doubt myself. Oh well. I built this a couple of years ago. The glass is an old shower screen door, the rest is scrap wood. I could do with about 5 more like this but don’t have the space. For much of the year it serves as a storage bin for plants waiting for their turn to be planted. From March to June it performs its most important duty as one of the final stops on the hardening off journey.

20171229_094133624812297.jpg

6 – Garlic, emerging. I’m growing garlic for the first time. I planted the cloves out in mid-November, I think. I was beginning to worry they were rotting in the ground, but I see the first tip of the first greenery emerging.  I hope to harvest in May/June time.

20171227_1153491982463910.jpg

Those are my Six, what are yours?  We’d love a nose around your garden, join in!  Couldn’t be easier, just write your post, add a comment below including the link to your post, and maybe add a link back to this blog in your post.  For more details, please see the brief participants’ guide.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend, don’t forget to check back as new links are added over the next 24-48 hours or so.

Happy New Year!