Last weekend’s decorating was a success. My reward for this is likely to be shelling out a small fortune for made-to-measure curtains in at least two rooms. That, and even more decorating, inevitably other rooms in the house now look in need of a spruce up when compared to Mrs P’s home office. This weekend though, I may actually get some gardening done. I want to make a dent in the tulip planting, at least those I plan to put in tubs, that won’t take that long once I get going with it. Meanwhile, it’s time for Six on Saturday. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything, you decide. Join in!

Here are my Six for this week.

1- Irrigation timers. This is as much a reminder for me as anything else. I forgot to put them away for the winter last year, resulting in a few getting frost damaged and springing a leak. I’ve turned them off, at least, but I need to decommission them and tuck away in the shed.

2 – Fatsia japonica, mad flowers. Sometimes the frost gets these before they have a chance to bloom fully, but Jack has been late this year, with only light frosts and only in the last couple of days.

3 – (Ex) Senecio angel wings. This angel has gone back to heaven. It did show signs of, well, resurrection, back in the spring but that amounted to nothing. So idle have I been in the garden department, I’ve done nothing with this pot, letting the weeds take hold. As patio displays go, it leaves something to be desired.

4 – Rose ‘Buff Beauty’. I am still limbo-ing under the stray stem, but now there are several buds, this one well on its way to being a rose. I wonder if it will bloom before we get a hard frost.

5 – Crazy Clematis. This is next door’s, a montana, and it lends me a profusion of blooms when it flowers but this has gone too far. Somewhere under all that is my Nandina domestica shrub. I need to free it from imprisonment before it gets strangled or starved of light, or both. It has happened fast, it wasn’t that long ago I was admiring the berries, now totally obscured.

6 – Staghorn sumac. This looked great earlier in the week, in rich autumn colours. Since then we’ve had a frost and a bit of wind, so not much left in the leaf department. What’s left looks like the bunting from a particularly wild garden party, or from a down-at-heel second hand car dealership.

Those are my Six, what are yours? If you’d like to join in, just publish your post and pop a link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be splendid. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

I hope you have a restful weekend, possibly a bit of autumnal garden pottering? Don’t forget to check back later as more links get added during the day.

I’ll be back next weekend with another #SixOnSaturday.