Last weekend I got a bit done in the garden. I fought the good fight with bindweed and other plantona-non-grata, I mowed and edged the lawn, I watered containers, I thought about getting the irrigation system out of hibernation, I tied things in, I fed the roses. You know, stuff. Not sure how much gardening I’ll get done this weekend, there’s a fair bit of running on the menu. Never mind, let’s do Six on Saturday. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything, you decide!

Here are my Six for this week…

1 – Dahlias, growing. I bought a few new ones, and I have successfully re-animated some dried out husks I never quite grew properly last year, and even one or two I accidentally dug up in the garden a couple of weeks ago. Dahlias are a pain in the backside, but hopefully good for some late summer blooms. I might re-pot these in 3L pots to give them a chance to grow on.

2 – Clematis ‘The President’. I have a few of these, most from cuttings from the first. This one is growing with another in the rose planters down the side of the house.

3 – Rose ‘Dr Eikener’. I’m not certain which flowered first, this or ‘Danse de Feu’ but I have a hunch is was Herr Doktor here. A fragrant, thorny rose, he is growing in the aforementioned planters down the side of the house.

4 – Rodgersia podophylla ‘Instow’ – I recently moved this in a bit of Lilac border re-arranging. It seems to be doing very well, it looks like it will produce lots of good stems with the impressive leaves. Perhaps it will even flower this year.

5 – Melianthus major. I grew this from seed last year, and two others like it. They have been languishing in too-small 1L pots in the greenhouse. I finally planted two of them, one in the corner of the Wisteria border, one in the front garden. The photo shows new growth from the ground, so I am hopeful they will grown on nicely now.

6 – Tulips. Two for the price of one, the purple is ‘Gorilla’, the other is, I think, ‘Cummins’. Frilly!

I might still have tulips in a presentable state next week, we shall see. If you’d like to have a go, just publish your post and pop a link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be splendid. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

Have a great weekend in the garden, I hope you get some good spring sunshine, and perhaps some convenient, useful overnight rain.

I’ll be back next weekend for another #SixOnSaturday.