Well well, come Monday it will be meteorological spring up here in the Northern Hemisphere. There are those that will argue that it doesn’t start till the vernal equinox on 20th March. But I say pah, let’s have it ASAP. While you are reading this I will be out in the chilly winter sunshine, plodding my way through 40km of the finest trails that Berkshire and Oxfordshire have to offer. In the meantime you can get on with Six on Saturday. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything, you decide. Join in!

Here are my Six for this week.

1 – Crocus, not shy. Over the last few years I have planted several hundred crocus bulbs. I should plant several hundred more. They have mainly been closed up this week but the sun is fully out and so they have come out to play.

2 – Snowdrops, oodles of ’em. Last week I bemoaned my very sparce collection of one or two very ordinary snowdrops. That is clearly a situation that the Six on Saturday Massive found unacceptable. Earlier this week I received not one but two parcels containing clumps of snowdrops. For now I have potted them up in their clumps to bide their time until I get around to planting them out. Based on recent evidence, that could be a while! Thanks so much to Noelle and Hortus Baileyana for taking pity on me, much appreciated!

3 – Hardy Plant Society seeds. My slightly disappointing haul from the HPS this year. I missed the opening of the scheme so will have been down the pecking order when the orders were picked. It is also later to arrive than usual, no doubt a side effect of trying to manage this complex operation under Covid-secure conditions. Still, I usually have way too many plants to grow, so this is all for my own good. I suppose…

4 – Narcissus ‘Téte-a-téte’. I bought a load more of these last year, but this lot is a throwback to a prior year’s planting. They are rather jolly, and as the name suggests, come in pairs, so more flowers. The first few are out, plenty more where they came from.

5 – Camelia ‘Nuccio’s Pearl’. This is the most open of the buds on this young shrub. Exciting.

6 – No idea. Since taking this photo earlier today, I’ve forgotten which plant this is. I think it is a persicaria, either ‘red dragon’ or ‘purple dragon’ or possibly even a begonia, although I don’t think so. Anyway, the point is that new growth is emerging. Hurrah.

Those are my Six, what are yours? If you’d like to join in, just publish your post and pop the link in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be triffic. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

Have a lovely weekend in the garden, don’t forget to pop back later as more links get added during the day.

I’ll be back next weekend for another #SixOnSaturday.