The weather forecast doesn’t look very encouraging, at least for today. High winds and heavy rain for most of the day. I have a few things to be doing undercover, fortunately, so I should be OK, and Sunday looks quite nice. In fact, I think we’ve seen the back of frost here until the autumn. I’m going to move my tomatoes out of the house and into their final positions this weekend. This will require a significant juggling act in the greenhouse as there is zero chance of them fitting in there at the moment. In the meantime, let’s do the Six on Saturday thing. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything, you decide. Join in!

Here are my Six for this week.

1 – Clematis ‘The President’, soon to flower. This one is growing in a planter down the side alley, scrambling through roses ‘The Pilgrim’ and ‘Dr Eckener’. In its third year, it’s doing well and I am expecting lots of flowers. In fact, I’m expecting a lot of flowers full stop from that grouping, I think the roses are going to be fab too. I took a couple of cuttings of this last year, one of which I just planted out elsewhere in the garden. I’ll be taking more cuttings of clematis this year, because who doesn’t need more clematis?

2 – Begonia ‘Glowing Embers’ plus bonus morning glory seedling. I bought this and two others like it last year to go in planters on the patio. They did very well, flowering profusely all summer. They were turfed out when it came time to plant up with tulips and daffodils. I almost binned them but decided to try to overwinter them. I didn’t do anything fancy, just potted them up and stuck them on a shelf in the greenhouse. Two out of three are busy putting out new growth. Of the third there is no sign yet but the other two were in the heated bench so perhaps had a head start. The morning glory seedling is what you get when you grow morning glory in the same planter. I should pot it up properly really.

3 – Tulip ‘Ballerina’ and ‘Elegant Lady’. I think ‘Ballerina’ is about to go over, but it has lasted very well given the wind and rain we have had recently. The ‘Elegant Lady’ have just come out, so I’m pleased they managed to overlap if only for a few days.

4 – Narcissus ‘Pheasant Eye’. The last of my daffs to emerge this year. Only one of the flowers is out, the rest will be with us in a matter of days, I think.

5 – Tulips ‘Slawa’, ‘Pretty Princess’ and ‘Mistress Mystic’. Sticking with the bulbs, this combo hasn’t worked as well as I’d hoped. ‘Slawa’ was out well before the others and they are all different heights. I might replace ‘Slawa’ with a white tulip next time.

6 – Carrot seedlings. My pointy orange nemesis, I’m coming back for more punishment this year. Last year I did at least have a handful that looked vaguely like a carrot, so I am ever hopeful. I’ve sowed direct, they took ages to germinate, probably due the unseasonable cold in April. I need to thin them out a bit

Those are my Six, what are yours? If you’d like to have a go, just publish your post and pop the link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be spiffing. For more details you can read the participant guide here.

Have a fabulous weekend, I hope you get lots of gardening done in spite. Don’t forget to check in later on as links get added throughout the day.

Stay safe, I’ll be back next weekend with another #SixOnSaturday.