I can confidently predict zero gardening this weekend. Quelle surprise! Mrs P and I are away in Brighton for our wedding anniversary. #3 child is coming home for the weekend to monitor #4 child. What could go wrong? While we are avoiding the cold weather in our posh hotel, you can be doing Six on Saturday. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Harder work at this time of year, there’s less going on. Separates the chickens from the pigs*, at least for those of us in the frozen north.

*a reference to breakfast – chickens are involved, pigs are committed!

Here are my Six for this week…

1 – Cup and saucer vine (Cobea scandens). Remember that elegant cream flower from last week? Purple now. Clearly a transitory state on this plant, but I’m sure I’ve see a cream coloured variety on sale as seed.

2 – Clematis seed head. Remember the ladies of a certain age getting their hair done? Well, they’ve all had a blow-dry now, I’m thinking 1980s hair-metal vibe here, think Def Leppard, or Poison. Lots of hairspray involved. Don’t they know there’s a climate emergency?

3 – Poppy seed head, al fresco living. Bringing the outside in, making a small space feel bigger by installing transparent walls. It’s like they’re not there at all! A Grand Design if ever I saw one, Kevin will be so pleased. I predict I will have a carpet of poppy seedlings in this spot next year…

4 – Bloody tulips. No, not a variety, an adjective. As in, “I got some of the bloody tulips planted.” In a flurry of activity last Saturday, I removed some of the tomato tubs cluttering up the ghost town greenhouse, using the same soil/compost mix to plant up tulips. Roughly 25 bulbs to a tub, there should be plenty of colour come the spring. That’s the good news. The bad news is I still have more to plant, about the same amount again, and to add insult to injury, I also found more daffodil bulbs lurking at the bottom of the box. Thought I’d done all those…

5 – Joe Pye weed. Unimpressive flowers replaced by unimpressive seed heads. As is now obvious, I have not yet removed this unimpressive plant. I will. Eventually.

6 – Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’. Not fully out yet, but I’ll take what I can at this time of the year.

Those are my Six, what are yours? If you’d like to have a go just publish your post and pop a link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be splendid. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

I hope you have a great weekend, maybe get some gardening done?

I’ll be back next weekend for another #SixOnSaturday.