So that’s it, past the midway point in the year, downhill to winter now! Last weekend was a write-off gardening wise, partly poor weather, partly me forgetting I had to collect #1 child from university. I got as far as moving the tub with the three yet-to-be-planted roses 15 paces, and I deadheaded two roses, both or which probably need doing again by now. I may get some gardening done this weekend, we’ll see, we have visitors.

1- Rodgersia podophylla ‘Instow’. Last featured emerging from the ground, this clump is now in fine fettle, and behold, totally unmunched by slugs or snails. This set of leaves is a good two feet across, and just beginning to develop the bronze tinge. There is something of the Jurassic about it.

2 – Telekia. A late grower, I totally forgot these were in the ground when I rearranged this bit of border. It has since emerged and is now growing strongly, it’s enorma-leaves crowding out other stuff. Again, not eaten by slugs, so that’s OK with me.

3 – Clematis ‘Rebecca’. In theory I have two of these, one growing in the ground against a 6′ trellis, and one in a container. The last two years the second of these has put out en encouraging forest of new stems from the ground. I turn my back and they’re gone, devoured by some bastard creature. Not sure what. Still, the other one is a beast and grows strongly every year, untroubled by beasties. If I don’t get around to training it properly (so, always), it shoots up and over the trellis, giving it’s best flowering performance to the little used trampoline on the other side.

4 – Penstemon ‘Plum Jerkum’. I have some other penstemon, a different denomination, but that are essentially indistiguishable from this one. Thing about penstemon is, not mithered by slugs or snails, and grow on nicely if they survive a winter or two.

5 – Geranium psilostemon (probably). Can’t go wrong with a geranium. Good flowers, attractive leaves, controllable, and yes, not loved by our slimy friends.

6 – Euphorbia cornigera. This normally gets buried behind other stuff but this year, I think after cutting back some young dogwoods, it has some breathing room and has grown better than it usually does, and visibly too. Guess what else? Not beloved by slugs or snails.

That’s your lot for this week! If you’d like to have a go, just publish your post and pop a link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be fab. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

Have a super weekend, I hope you get some quality gardening time, me included!

I’ll be back next time with another #SixOnSaturday.