There will be a distinct lack of gardening for me this weekend. Today I will be out on the South Downs Way, competing in a 50 mile foot race. As one does. Tomorrow I will be mainly eating and snoozing by way of recovery. I might get the roses fed, and I might tidy the greenhouse a bit. Or I might not.

While I’m out running for 9 or 10 hours, you can be doing Six on Saturday. Six things, in the garden, on a Saturday. Could be anything, a plant, a flower, a pest, a job to do, wildlife, anything at all. Join in!

Here are my Six for this week.

1 – Narcissus ‘Baby Boomer’. Some of the pots on my patio table are beginning to flower. This teeny daff is about the size of a 50p piece.

2 – Tulip ‘Trick’. In it’s 4th year I think, this variety is determined to make a liar out of me. I usually adopt the position that tulips are not reliable returners, which is why I rarely plant them in the ground, preferring to treat them as annuals in pots.

3 – Wisteria buds. We had a couple of frosty nights recently, I was concerned that it might have caught the wisteria at just the wrong moment, but seems like I am safe, at least for now. This rampant and now quite mature wisteria is gradually crushing the trellis against which it grows. I’m slightly at a loss as to what to do when it finally collapses. I’ll worry about that when it happens…

4 – Narcissus ‘Replete’. Probably a good thing it’s slightly out of focus, it’s rather an eyeful. A frilly double, it allegedly has a fragrance but I forgot to sniff-check it.

5 – Muscari, basic. I think they’re gradually spreading, but so imperceptibly as to be almost unmeasurable. This group sits on the edge of the wisteria border just as you go through the arch to the “working” area of the garden.

6 – Camellia ‘Nuccio’s Pearl’. This shrub seems to be in good cheer in full shade, although not terribly fast growing. I need to top dress it with some ericaceous compost (my garden soil doesn’t suit it) and some feed to boot.

Those are my Six, what are yours? If you’d like to have a go, just publish your post and pop a link to it in the comments below. If you also mention my blog in yours that would be triffic. For more details you can read the brief participant guide.

Have a super weekend, get some gardening done if you can!

I’ll be back next time for another #SixOnSaturday